Folks on-line
'
Forums Albums Skins 1
Search Register Logon

You are logged in as a guest. Logon or register an account to access more features.
OTHER FORUMS:    Horse Trailers  -   Trucks   -   Cutting  -   Reining  -   Roping 
'
Older Maiden Mare Breeding
Moderators: luluwhit, gotothewhip, crossspur, ForumAdmin

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [20 messages per page]
Last activity 2018-05-17 9:48 PM
8 replies, 394 views

View previous thread :: View next thread
   General Discussion -> Barrel Talk
Refresh
Message format

aherman
Reg. May 2017
Posted 2018-05-15 2:12 PM (#7396300)
Subject: Older Maiden Mare Breeding

I am young and new to the breeding aspect of horses. I have been in the horse world for 17 years, in both hunter jumpers, AQHA Congress, barrels, rodeo, 4-H, etc etc. I am new to the breeding side of everything though and I am needing some advice.

I have a Mare who has never been bred before (that I am aware of) she is 14 and I bought her two years ago. Her only downfall is that she is club foot, which a good farrier makes manageable. Her disposition is phenomenal and the stud i picked is Merry For Corona, to make up for her conformation flaws.

I was planning on breeding her in May, and I was out of town when she came into heat ( I didn't think it would be that early) when I got back into down she was just coming out of heat. I have since figured out when I need to breed. I just moved to my new city and found a general vet and a repro vet near me. I called him to set up a pre breeding eval for her. He states I need to do a cytology, cultures, US, and a uterine biopsy. The only thing I am questioning is the biopsy as it is close to $200. I am a college student and could be broke for the month and that's fine, but I'm questioning how necessary is it? I assumed maybe if she did not take the first time, then do the biopsy?