Folks on-line
'
1
Forums Albums Skins 1
Search Register Logon


You are logged in as a guest. Logon or register an account to access more features.
OTHER FORUMS:    Horse Trailers  -   Trucks   -   Cutting  -   Reining  -   Roping 
'
Dish Network
Moderators: luluwhit, gotothewhip, crossspur, ForumAdmin

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [20 messages per page]
Last activity 2018-12-13 2:58 PM
19 replies, 615 views

View previous thread :: View next thread
   General Discussion -> Barrel Talk
Refresh
Message format
 
Sandok
Reg. Jan 2011
Posted 2018-12-05 8:35 AM (#7415489)
Subject: Dish Network


Elite Veteran


Posts: 814
500100100100
Is anybody still using Dish? If so, has there been any disputes and/or channels blacked out because of the disputes? I have had my local stations (3) blacked out because of ongoing disputes between Dish and the Broadcasters. Very frustrating!! I have 5 locals stations and out of the 5, 3 are blacked out. I have complained, complained to Dish and to the Broadcasters but to no avail as they both blame the other. Go figure!! They keep telling me that I can get an over the air antenna to get my locals. Has anybody got an over the air antenna? And if so, is it easy to install? Also what kind?
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
lttllace
Reg. Oct 2013
Posted 2018-12-05 8:47 AM (#7415492 - in reply to #7415489)
Subject: RE: Dish Network


Member


Posts: 22
0
Sandok - 2018-12-05 8:35 AM

Is anybody still using Dish? If so, has there been any disputes and/or channels blacked out because of the disputes? I have had my local stations (3) blacked out because of ongoing disputes between Dish and the Broadcasters. Very frustrating!! I have 5 locals stations and out of the 5, 3 are blacked out. I have complained, complained to Dish and to the Broadcasters but to no avail as they both blame the other. Go figure!! They keep telling me that I can get an over the air antenna to get my locals. Has anybody got an over the air antenna? And if so, is it easy to install? Also what kind?

I currently have Dish and I know HBO is blocked out for now. I don't know of any others. We are planning to change service though.
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
Frodo
Reg. Jul 2004
Posted 2018-12-05 10:25 AM (#7415508 - in reply to #7415489)
Subject: RE: Dish Network


"Heck's Coming With Me"


Posts: 9000
500020002000
Location: Kansas
They're all frustrating.  I have DirectTV and even though I don't change the programming my bill is different every month.  I call and argue every month and usually get them beat down a little bit.  It just gets old.  It can change from $104 to $150 in an 8-week period and all I have other than the basics is STARZ.


 
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
lttllace
Reg. Oct 2013
Posted 2018-12-05 10:52 AM (#7415511 - in reply to #7415508)
Subject: RE: Dish Network


Member


Posts: 22
0
Frodo - 2018-12-05 10:25 AM

They're all frustrating.  I have DirectTV and even though I don't change the programming my bill is different every month.  I call and argue every month and usually get them beat down a little bit.  It just gets old.  It can change from $104 to $150 in an 8-week period and all I have other than the basics is STARZ.


 

I hear you. We are going to try and cut the cord and go with hulu live.
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
SC Wrangler
Reg. Jul 2004
Posted 2018-12-05 11:05 AM (#7415513 - in reply to #7415489)
Subject: RE: Dish Network


Nut Case Expert


Posts: 9104
500020002000100
Location: Tulsa, Ok
I currently have Dish. Used to have Direct. With both providers we have temporarily lost channels, including locals, as contracts expire and negotiations stall. It is extremely annoying, but usually doesn't go on too long. Unfortunately an over the air antenna is pretty much useless in my location.
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
Sandok
Reg. Jan 2011
Posted 2018-12-05 1:03 PM (#7415526 - in reply to #7415489)
Subject: RE: Dish Network


Elite Veteran


Posts: 814
500100100100
That's what I am afraid of that the Over the Air Antenna will not get my local channels and I don't necessarily want to switch as I have compared Direct and Dish and Direct is more that Dish. This dispute has been ongoing now for almost 2 years I think.
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
bten
Reg. Apr 2015
Posted 2018-12-05 2:06 PM (#7415534 - in reply to #7415489)
Subject: RE: Dish Network


Veteran


Posts: 117
100
Location: Montgomery TX
Yes, we have Dish - As of last night, all of our local channels are fine. I vaguely remember a year or so ago, they were blacked out for a couple days.


Edited by bten 2018-12-05 2:07 PM
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
Southtxponygirl
Reg. Nov 2006
Posted 2018-12-05 6:09 PM (#7415545 - in reply to #7415489)
Subject: RE: Dish Network



A Somebody to Everybody


Posts: 36892
50005000500050005000500050001000500100100100252525
Location: *TEXAS of Course * Seguin*
I have Dish too, But HBO and Cinemax removed their channels..
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
Chandler's Mom
Reg. Jan 2015
Posted 2018-12-05 8:33 PM (#7415552 - in reply to #7415489)
Subject: RE: Dish Network



My Heart Be Happy


Posts: 6760
500010005001001002525
Location: Arkansas
I believe I got something from Dish yesterday that said "your local channels are back". Yeah, ummm, I'm not sure I knew they were gone. . . . I'm sad, aren't I???!!!!
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
bten
Reg. Apr 2015
Posted 2018-12-06 12:37 PM (#7415605 - in reply to #7415552)
Subject: RE: Dish Network


Veteran


Posts: 117
100
Location: Montgomery TX
Chandler's Mom - 2018-12-05 8:33 PM

I believe I got something from Dish yesterday that said "your local channels are back". Yeah, ummm, I'm not sure I knew they were gone. . . . I'm sad, aren't I???!!!!

Me too - I turned my tv on twice this week - but I sure do have my DVR set for the next 10 days!!
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
want2chase3
Reg. May 2009
Posted 2018-12-06 1:45 PM (#7415624 - in reply to #7415605)
Subject: RE: Dish Network



Warrior Mom


Posts: 2297
2000100100252525
bten - 2018-12-06 12:37 PM

Chandler's Mom - 2018-12-05 8:33 PM

I believe I got something from Dish yesterday that said "your local channels are back". Yeah, ummm, I'm not sure I knew they were gone. . . . I'm sad, aren't I???!!!!

Me too - I turned my tv on twice this week - but I sure do have my DVR set for the next 10 days!!

What channel on dish is the nfr? I thought it was CBS but I am not seeing that on my guide
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
Sandok
Reg. Jan 2011
Posted 2018-12-06 4:59 PM (#7415647 - in reply to #7415489)
Subject: RE: Dish Network


Elite Veteran


Posts: 814
500100100100
I think the NFR on Dish is 158 and comes on at 10:00 pm. Unfortunately I cannot stay up that late to watch it so am trying to find some other way to watch it even though it would be a day late. Previous years I could watch it on Youtube the next day but I guess no one is taping it this year.
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
Chandler's Mom
Reg. Jan 2015
Posted 2018-12-06 7:00 PM (#7415653 - in reply to #7415624)
Subject: RE: Dish Network



My Heart Be Happy


Posts: 6760
500010005001001002525
Location: Arkansas
want2chase3 - 2018-12-06 1:45 PM

bten - 2018-12-06 12:37 PM

Chandler's Mom - 2018-12-05 8:33 PM

I believe I got something from Dish yesterday that said "your local channels are back". Yeah, ummm, I'm not sure I knew they were gone. . . . I'm sad, aren't I???!!!!

Me too - I turned my tv on twice this week - but I sure do have my DVR set for the next 10 days!!

What channel on dish is the nfr? I thought it was CBS but I am not seeing that on my guide

It's 158 I believe
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
bten
Reg. Apr 2015
Posted 2018-12-07 12:20 PM (#7415726 - in reply to #7415647)
Subject: RE: Dish Network


Veteran


Posts: 117
100
Location: Montgomery TX
Sandok - 2018-12-06 4:59 PM

I think the NFR on Dish is 158 and comes on at 10:00 pm. Unfortunately I cannot stay up that late to watch it so am trying to find some other way to watch it even though it would be a day late. Previous years I could watch it on Youtube the next day but I guess no one is taping it this year.

I ordered the DVR one year specially for the NFR - best thing ever!!! I like it so much, I never canceled it. I'm going to bed when the NFR is just coming on -
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
want2chase3
Reg. May 2009
Posted 2018-12-07 12:52 PM (#7415731 - in reply to #7415489)
Subject: RE: Dish Network



Warrior Mom


Posts: 2297
2000100100252525
Guess I don't have channel 158 I have to watch it on the cowboy channel apparently. I recorded it but it only looks to be an hour long. First time EVER not having the NFR in my home!
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
SmokinBandits
Reg. Dec 2003
Posted 2018-12-12 7:17 PM (#7416275 - in reply to #7415489)
Subject: RE: Dish Network



Having Smokin Bandits


Posts: 4433
2000200010010010010025
Location: Woodstown, NJ
I have Dish and have been fuming that I haven't been able to watch HBO in weeks.

On a related issue, don't upgrade to the Dish Hopper. It's a nightmare!  We pay about fifty dollars more because this Hopper was supposed to be so great. TV is what my husband loves. I've got to let him have it since I have all the horses. So we get the Hopper and we haven't had good TV since! Before, we never had trouble when the weather was bad. We never saw an error screen. Whatever we taped, actually taped. So then we pay even more money for a service contract because there are constant problems and never the same problems! But of course we can't get an appointment that is convenient with our work schedules. Every time I turn the TV on, I'm angry. 
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
Sandok
Reg. Jan 2011
Posted 2018-12-13 11:44 AM (#7416350 - in reply to #7415489)
Subject: RE: Dish Network


Elite Veteran


Posts: 814
500100100100
I have basically been OK with Dish until this blackout on the local channels occurred about 2 years ago now. I have complained with Dish got a somewhat of a discount but not permanent.
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
fulltiltfilly
Reg. Dec 2008
Posted 2018-12-13 2:00 PM (#7416373 - in reply to #7415508)
Subject: RE: Dish Network



I hate cooking and cleaning


Posts: 2916
2000500100100100100
Location: Jersey Girl
Frodo - 2018-12-05 11:25 AM They're all frustrating.  I have DirectTV and even though I don't change the programming my bill is different every month.  I call and argue every month and usually get them beat down a little bit.  It just gets old.  It can change from $104 to $150 in an 8-week period and all I have other than the basics is STARZ.





 

I have DirecTV and went with AT&T to bundle and save even more on my monthly bill. I haven't had any issues with DirecTV yet (started with them last May or June) however, ATT&T - thats a whole other story. I have had nothing BUT issues with them. Since August I have called NUMEROUS (I have a log book) times trying to get the price I was promised. I finally got it in the beginning of November. But now I get a letter saying I no longer have the right package to be able to bundle. I haven't called back yet....so annoying......I feel like when they want you to sign up they tell you anything. And its even more wonderful when you get to talk to people located in India that don't understand anything off script.
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
Quick3
Reg. Jun 2004
Posted 2018-12-13 2:10 PM (#7416377 - in reply to #7416275)
Subject: RE: Dish Network



Elite Veteran


Posts: 988
500100100100100252525
Location: Oklahoma
SmokinBandits - 2018-12-12 7:17 PM I have Dish and have been fuming that I haven't been able to watch HBO in weeks.



On a related issue, don't upgrade to the Dish Hopper. It's a nightmare!  We pay about fifty dollars more because this Hopper was supposed to be so great. TV is what my husband loves. I've got to let him have it since I have all the horses. So we get the Hopper and we haven't had good TV since! Before, we never had trouble when the weather was bad. We never saw an error screen. Whatever we taped, actually taped. So then we pay even more money for a service contract because there are constant problems and never the same problems! But of course we can't get an appointment that is convenient with our work schedules. Every time I turn the TV on, I'm angry. 

 Dish is at my house as I type.  My box had a hard drive failure and they were supposed to be here two hours ago to replace it.  Once they got here, they said they couldn’t replace it and would have to install the Hopper version at an increased price.  I’m being held hostage. Grrrrrr
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
cindyt
Reg. Dec 2003
Posted 2018-12-13 2:58 PM (#7416383 - in reply to #7415489)
Subject: RE: Dish Network


Ms Bling Bling Sleeze Kitty


Posts: 20380
5000500050005000100100100252525
Location: LouLouVille, OK
I haven't lately.. but it has happened in the past on the local channels
share Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [20 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread
Message format
 

'
Registered to: Barrel Horse World
(Delete all cookies set by this site)
Running MegaBBS ASP Forum Software
© 2002-2018 PD9 Software