Come on in Folks on-line

Today is

You are logged in as a guest. Logon or register an account to access more features.

2yo evading bit....what should I do?

Jump to page :
Last activity 2019-05-28 12:46 PM
13 replies, 751 views

View previous thread :: View next thread
   General Discussion -> Barrel Talk
Refresh

cavyrunsbarrels
Reg. Dec 2010
Posted 2019-05-12 9:33 AM
Subject: 2yo evading bit....what should I do?

Red Bull Agressive

I recently started riding a 2yo who has had between 60-90 rides in the last 5ish months. So she is obviously still veeery green. She seems very quiet and level headed but she seems to have already learned to evade the bit. Like I said, I've only ridden her a couple times and I haven't seen how her owner/trainer rides her. I also do not own her, so do not know when she last had her teeth done, but know her owners take very good care of their horses and maintain them well. But anyway, when I just *touch* the bit to back up or stop her, she first responds by tucking her nose to her chest and opening her mouth. Also her steering is not great (yes I use my seat and leg, but rather than "following her nose" she wants to bend her neck around and keep traveling straight). She is like riding a wet noodle lol. And when she wants to speed up, and I touch the bit, she will fight the contact by lifting her head or tucking it to her chest and trying to run through it. She also will get a little tail swishy and upset. 

I'm thinking I need to take her back a step and put her in a sidepull and get her used to stopping and steering in that before reintroducing a bit. But she is the youngest horse I've worked with, so I'm curious what others with more experience would do. FYI the only bit she's been ridden in is a single joint O-ring. If/when I do reintroduce a bit, is there something else you would recommend? I have an english D ring myler level 1 that I'm curious how she would respond to, but would love to hear other ideas. 

↑ Top ↓ Bottom