Come on in Folks on-line

Today is

You are logged in as a guest. Logon or register an account to access more features.

Sharing a post I read....

Jump to page :
Last activity 2021-02-22 5:46 PM
6 replies, 330 views

View previous thread :: View next thread
   General Discussion -> Barrel Talk
Refresh

want2chase3
Reg. May 2009
Posted 2021-02-22 11:38 AM
Subject: Sharing a post I read....

Warrior Mom

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=2947219722266090&id=100009342739041

Hopefully it will open.. I'm not too tech savvy 

↑ Top ↓ Bottom
foundation horse
Reg. Aug 2004
Posted 2021-02-22 11:54 AM
Subject: RE: Sharing a post I read....

Military family

Semper Fi

For months since the Presidential election we’ve heard talk of all those who said they’d stay home or go live off the land. Then we get a week of a winter storm and everyone cries to the high heavens for power and luxurious things the outside world and corporate America provides.
I grew up in a small town in the Rocky Mountains of Idaho. Deep snow for 6 months and subzero temperatures most folks can’t fathom. The good summers were spent preparing for winter. You cut hay and cut wood and grew gardens and fed beef and hunted in the fall. A cow elk or a doe was considered valuable cause you can’t eat antlers.
I worked for ranches and hunting guides and spent a great deal of time in the mountains.
There’s a lot of bloody work goes into killing and eating an animal. The stuff that goes on behind the doors at butcher shops that most of you don’t see.
My grandpa used to say wood has a lot of heat. It makes you sweat when you cut it, haul it, split it, stack it and burn it. Not many folks today have had the privilege of cutting their own firewood.